Senator Nelson to Co-Chair HHS Restructuring Panel

September 21, 2015

AUSTIN – Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, was named co-chair of the Transition Legislative Oversight Committee – a panel of four Senators, four State Representatives and three gubernatorial appointees that will oversee the re-organization of the state's health and human service agencies.

"Our goal is to make the system more efficient and easier to navigate for the people who rely on state services," Senator Nelson said.

The panel was created under Senator Nelson's SB 200, the Sunset bill for the Health and Human Services Commission, which re-aligned the five agencies that make up the health and human services enterprises. Senator Nelson will serve alongside Senators Brian Birdwell, Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa and Charles Schwertner. The House appointees are Representative Four Price, co-chair; and Representatives Cindy Burkett, Toni Rose and Richard Raymond. The Governor's appointees are John Colyandro, Billy Hamilton and Heather Griffith Peterson.