AUSTIN — The Senate Finance Committee unanimously approved SB 2222 filed by State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, to provide bullet resistant windshields for Department of Public Safety (DPS) patrol vehicles.

"Just a few weeks ago one of our troopers was murdered in cold blood, shot in his patrol car, and we are not going to stand by while our troopers are being ambushed," Senator Jane Nelson said. "Here in Texas, we back the blue, and passing this bill will help protect our officers from those who would do them harm."

According to DPS, Texas has seen a 500% increase in attacks on our DPS officers in the last two years. Senator Nelson filed SB 2222 in honor of Texas troopers who were ambushed in the line of duty:

Terry Miller died October 12, 1999, survived by his wife and two daughters
Randall W. Vetter died August 7, 2000, survived by his wife and infant son
James Scott Burns died April 29, 2008, survived by his wife and infant child
Trooper Allen, died Nov. 23, 2008, survived by his wife, three daughters and son
Charles Pryor sustained a wound to his face August 31, 2019, and has returned to full duty
Chad Walker died March 31, 2021, survived by his wife, son and three daughters
The bill now heads to the full Senate, and the hearing can be watched at

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.

More Updates

Sen. Nelson Announces $10 Million in Funds to Ranch Hands Rescue

State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, today announced $10 million in funds from the General Appropriations Act, SB 1,will be distributed to a local nonprofit, Ranch Hands Rescue, and dedicated to supporting survivors of human trafficking.

Read More

A Letter from Senator Nelson

Friends, Colleagues, Senate District 12 constituents:

Read More

Senator Nelson Will Not Seek Re-Election in 2022

Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, announced today that she will not seek re-election in 2022.

Read More
Your browser has javascript disabled or does not support javascript, some site functionality may not work as a result