AUSTIN – The Texas Senate today unanimously approved SB 10, authored by Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, which establishes the Texas Mental Health Care Consortium to foster collaboration among health-related institutions with the goal of improving early intervention and access to mental health services, addressing psychiatry workforce issues, promoting and coordinating mental health research, and strengthening judicial training on juvenile mental health. The bill now goes to the Texas House of Representatives for further consideration.

"This bill leverages the expertise of our medical schools to address gaps in our mental health system, especially for at-risk youth," Senator Nelson said. "Many young people are at risk of suicide, substance abuse or becoming a danger to themselves and others. This bill allows us to provide early intervention and connect these individuals to treatment."

Specifically, SB 10 will:

  • Create a consortium to help coordinate state mental health initiatives across Texas' health-related institutions of higher education;
  • Establish mental health "hubs" at our health-related institutions consisting of psychiatrists, social workers, referral specialists and other mental health professionals;
  • Establish the Child Psychiatry Access Network (CPAN), which will allow pediatricians and primary care providers to consult with mental health experts on treatment options for their patients -- which is key because 75 percent of the time these providers are the first to detect mental health issues, yet many do not feel comfortable providing mental health care;
  • Establish a program allowing youth to access services through telemedicine;
  • Increase residency opportunities for psychiatry students in community settings;
  • Expand and coordinate mental health research at our health-related institutions; and
  • Direct that judges be educated about mental health resources in their community.

All services under SB 10 require written parental consent. SB 10 was designated as an emergency item by Governor Abbott in his State of the State Address. All 31 Senators are signed on as co-authors.

Senator Jane Nelson represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.


More Updates

Sen. Nelson Announces $10 Million in Funds to Ranch Hands Rescue

State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, today announced $10 million in funds from the General Appropriations Act, SB 1,will be distributed to a local nonprofit, Ranch Hands Rescue, and dedicated to supporting survivors of human trafficking.

Read More

A Letter from Senator Nelson

Friends, Colleagues, Senate District 12 constituents:

Read More

Senator Nelson Will Not Seek Re-Election in 2022

Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, announced today that she will not seek re-election in 2022.

Read More
Your browser has javascript disabled or does not support javascript, some site functionality may not work as a result